There are four virtual fencing systems a US livestock producer can realistically buy in 2026: Nofence, Halter, Vence and Gallagher eShepherd. They are not four versions of the same thing. They differ on what animals they'll fence, whether you buy or lease, whether you have to build infrastructure, and what happens when the cell signal drops.
We sell one of them. You should know that before you read the rest.
Powerflex carries Nofence, and we carry it because we put collars on real operations in our own customer base and watched what happened over a season. That's a reason to trust our field experience and a reason to discount our conclusion. Both are fair. So we've written this the way we'd talk it through on the phone — including the parts where somebody else's system is the better fit for your place.
Everything below is sourced from each company's own published material or from named university extension publications, with the source noted. Where a number is disputed, unpublished or third-hand, we say so rather than guessing. Prices move; confirm anything that matters with the vendor before you buy.
The 60-second answer
- You run sheep or goats? Your choice is made. Nofence is the only one of the four that fences small ruminants. Halter, Vence and eShepherd are all cattle-only, and say so on their own sites.
- You run a milking dairy herd? Halter. It's purpose-built for it, and Nofence explicitly says its system isn't designed for lactating cows.
- Large extensive range, poor cell coverage, capital available? Vence's base stations cover 5,000–10,000 acres each and don't need cellular at all.
- Beef cattle, scattered or leased ground, don't want infrastructure? Nofence or eShepherd — both collar-only.
- You want to own the hardware rather than rent it? Nofence and eShepherd sell you the collars. Halter and Vence lease them.
At a glance
| Nofence | Halter | Vence | Gallagher eShepherd | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cattle | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, over 440 lb |
| Sheep & goats | Yes | No | No | No |
| Milking dairy | No | Yes, built for it | Works with dairy cattle | Not specified |
| Base station required | No | Dairy: yes. Beef: no (satellite) | Yes | Optional |
| Own or lease | Buy | Lease | Lease | Buy |
| Collar power | Solar + rechargeable | Solar, no battery swap | Single-use battery | Solar + LiFePO4 |
| Collar-to-collar relay | Yes (HerdNet) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Warranty | 5 yr (C2.5, SG2.5) 10 yr (N3) |
Leased, replaced on failure | Leased, replaced on failure | 3 years |
| Public pricing | No | No | No | No |
The first question is species, and it eliminates three of them
This is the filter almost nobody leads with, and it settles the decision for a lot of operations before anything else matters.
Halter is unambiguous in its own FAQ: "Halter collars are designed for cattle only. They aren't made for sheep, goats, or horses."
Gallagher eShepherd is equally clear: designed for cattle over 200 kg (440 lb), and "not suitable for sheep or goats."
Vence says it is "focused solely on cattle operations," with trials running on other species.
Nofence makes a separate, lighter collar for sheep and goats — the SG2.5, which its own spec page lists at roughly 1.12 lb on the animal — alongside its cattle collars, all running on one app and one account.
If you run a mixed operation, or you're grazing goats for brush control, or you're running sheep on solar sites, that's the end of the comparison. Only one of these four will do the job.
The second question is whether you're buying or renting
This one is structural and it's rarely explained well.
Halter and Vence lease you the collars. You pay per head per year, and if a collar fails they replace it. A University of Arizona Cooperative Extension publication describes Halter's arrangement plainly: "The collars are leased, so if the collar or battery breaks down, they send you a replacement free of charge." That's genuinely good — you never carry hardware risk.
Nofence and eShepherd sell you the hardware. You own the collars and pay a subscription for the service on top. Nofence includes the first 12 months of subscription with the collar purchase; after that it's monthly or annual.
Neither model is better in the abstract. Leasing has a lower entry cost and no obsolescence risk. Owning means that after the collar is paid for, you're only carrying the service cost — and you have an asset, which matters if you're applying for cost-share funding against a capital purchase.
What it changes is how you should compare quotes. A lease quote and a purchase quote are not comparable at the sticker. Ask every vendor for the five-year total: hardware, subscription, batteries, base stations, and replacements.
The third question is infrastructure
Not features. Towers.
Vence requires base stations. Its own product page says each solar-powered station "can cover 5,000–10,000 acres" depending on topography and is "designed to last 10-plus years with little to no maintenance." The University of Arizona extension publication frames the same coverage as roughly a 9-mile radius. Collars talk to the station over LoRa radio, which means Vence doesn't need cellular service at all — a real advantage on country where no carrier reaches.
Halter used to be tower-only. That changed. Halter now runs two architectures: the original LoRa tower system for dairy, and direct-to-satellite collars for beef, launched in 2025–26. Its own FAQ explains the split — satellite collars are "for beef farms and stations only," because dairy needs higher-frequency data than satellite currently supports. If you read a comparison written before 2025 that calls Halter a tower system, it's out of date for beef.
Nofence and eShepherd are collar-only — though eShepherd offers an optional base station for properties with patchy coverage.
Towers aren't a flaw. On a large contiguous range outfit with no cell signal, a base station is the right answer: it covers a lot of country and it doesn't care what the carriers do. But it's a capital project with a site plan, and on 200 leased acres you may not have next season, it's the wrong shape entirely.
The fourth question is power, and it's the one that shows up in year two
Three of the four are solar. One isn't.
Vence uses a single-use, replaceable battery. The University of Arizona extension publication states: "The collars use a single-use battery estimated to last 6 to 9 months depending on use. Additional batteries must be purchased." An SDSU extension specialist has described changing them roughly four times a year in a year-round grazing system.
Across a large herd that's a recurring consumable to budget for, plus the labour of gathering and handling cattle to swap them.
Halter uses four solar panels with, by its own account, no battery replacement ever required. Nofence runs continuous solar charging into a rechargeable lithium-ion battery. eShepherd uses solar into a LiFePO4 battery and says a few hours of sun holds charge for several days.
This is the kind of difference that doesn't show up in a sales conversation and does show up in September.
The fifth question is what happens when the signal drops
Nofence runs cellular first, on AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, with HerdNet relaying collar-to-collar when one animal sits in a dead spot — so a collar out of carrier range can still reach the network through its neighbours. Satellite is listed as coming in spring 2027, and its new N3 cattle collar is built around all three layers running simultaneously.
eShepherd offers cellular or LoRa base station, and publishes something the others don't: if communication fails, virtual paddocks stay active for up to 24 hours, then deactivate and animals can roam. That's a useful thing to know and we'd rather see it stated than not.
Vence doesn't depend on cellular at all — the collars talk to your base station.
Halter provides its own connectivity, tower or satellite, rather than relying on a carrier.
Before you choose, walk the worst corner of your worst pasture with your phone and be honest about what you see. That single test rules systems in and out faster than any spec sheet.
What each one is, in a paragraph
Nofence
Norwegian, collar-only, no base station. The only one of the four that fences sheep and goats as well as cattle. Cellular plus collar-to-collar mesh, with satellite coming. Claims a 99.7% containment rate across its fleet and reports more than 10,000 producers using it. Raised a €30M Series B in 2025. Its current cattle collar is the C2.5 with a 5-year warranty; the new N3, opened for pre-order in September 2026 and shipping March 2027, carries a 10-year warranty — confirmed as the actual term in Nofence's own hardware warranty policy, not just marketing. Explicitly not designed for lactating dairy cows.
Halter
New Zealand, and the best-funded of the four by a distance — a $220M Series E at a reported $2B valuation in March 2026, following $100M the year before. Cattle only. Tower-based for dairy, direct-to-satellite for beef. Strong herd-management software: it publishes 7–10 day training times and an algorithm that tunes stimulus per animal. Collars are leased with replacement on failure. Reported by trade press as serving 200+ ranchers across 22 states — so worth checking it operates where you are.
Vence
Owned by Merck Animal Health since September 2022. Cattle only, for now. Base-station architecture built for scale — extensive rangeland, post-wildfire recovery, conservation and riparian work. No cellular dependency. Leased collars, single-use batteries. Says training is "typically done in four days or less" when lead animals train with the herd watching. Publishes a cost-and-funding page that routes producers to NRCS programs rather than quoting a price.
Gallagher eShepherd
From a fencing company you already know — Gallagher has been making energizers for decades, and that dealer network is a real asset when something needs fixing. Cattle only, over 440 lb. Collar-only or base station, your choice. Solar. The neckband weighs about 5.5 lb and sits under the chin. 3-year warranty, with a stated design life of 7–10 years that Gallagher itself flags as an engineering estimate not yet validated over the full period — which is a more honest piece of disclosure than most of this category manages. GPS accurate to about a metre near the fence line.
What it costs — and why nobody will tell you
None of the four publishes a price list. All four route you to a sales conversation. That's frustrating, and it's consistent across the category, so don't read it as evasiveness from any one of them — the quote genuinely depends on herd size, terrain, connectivity and region.
We're not going to publish competitor quotes we can't stand behind. Figures circulate in trade press and extension talks, they're often regional, and they go stale fast. Ask each vendor directly and make them put it in writing.
What we can tell you is the shape, and the shape matters more than any single number: collar systems cost per animal; base-station systems cost per site plus per animal. So the crossover depends on herd size and how many separate pieces of ground you run.
- Small herd, one place — collar-only is cheaper, usually by a lot.
- Large herd, one contiguous block — a base station starts to earn its keep.
- Several scattered or leased parcels — collar-only wins again, because you'd need a station at each.
Our Virtual Fence Savings Calculator prices Nofence against building the equivalent cross-fence from our own catalog, using our real prices. It will tell you when polybraid is the cheaper answer — and sometimes it is.
Who helps pay
Several states fund virtual fencing through NRCS programs — EQIP, CSP and others — and it can change the math on any of these systems substantially. Vence's own cost page leans on this rather than quoting prices, which tells you how material it is.
Check before you choose, not after. Our EQIP cost-share and funding guide covers the practices that qualify, the payment ranges, and the mistake that disqualifies most applications.
What none of them do
None of these is a predator barrier. A virtual fence is not a physical barrier, and we'd rather say that plainly than have you find out. Very few fences stop predators anyway; the difference is what happens when one gets in. With collars, your animals' survival instinct wins — they push through the pulses and scatter rather than being boxed into a corner. You'll see it in their activity data or get an escape alert, and the GPS gives you a practical way to find an animal that's been scattered or hurt. If predator pressure is your primary problem, pair virtual fence with a physical perimeter rather than replacing one with the other.
None of them fences the outside of your place. Virtual fence replaces cross-fence, not boundary fence. You still need a real perimeter, and you still need it built properly.
None of them works without handling facilities. Every system needs a day's work to fit collars and a training period while stock learn the audio cue — published figures run from about four days to ten, depending on the system and how you train. eShepherd states a minimum training group of 20 animals.
None of them publishes an independently verified containment rate. Nofence publishes 99.7% across its fleet. Halter and eShepherd don't publish a headline figure at all. Every third-party compliance number we found — and they range from 90% to 99% — traces to a specific study with its own species, terrain and duration. Treat any single percentage with care, whoever is quoting it.
How we'd decide
- What species? Sheep or goats anywhere in the operation means Nofence. Milking dairy means Halter. Everything else stays open.
- Walk your worst pasture with your phone. No signal across whole paddocks pushes you toward Vence's base stations or Halter's satellite.
- Count your parcels. One contiguous block favours base stations. Scattered or leased ground favours collar-only.
- Decide whether you want to own the hardware. That splits the four cleanly in two.
- Get five-year totals, not stickers. Include batteries, base stations, subscription and replacements.
- Check cost-share before you commit. It can move the answer.
So what would we tell you?
If you're running mixed species, leased ground, scattered parcels, or you want to graze brush and creek bottoms that were never going to be fenced — Nofence is the one we'd put on your place, and it's the one we stock.
If you're milking, look at Halter. If you're running a large contiguous range operation with no cell coverage and the capital for infrastructure, look seriously at Vence. If you want a collar-only system from a fencing brand with a dealer on your side of the state, eShepherd deserves a quote.
We'd rather tell you that than sell you the wrong thing.
Call us on 888-251-3934. A grazier, not a call center. Bring your acres, your herd size, your species mix and an honest read on your cell signal, and it's a short conversation.
Shop Nofence collars →
Run your numbers in the savings calculator →
New to virtual fencing? Start with the overview →
Sources: nofence.com (including its published hardware warranty policy and sheep & goat specification page), halterhq.com, merck-animal-health-usa.com/hub/vence, eshepherd.com and am.gallagher.com, all accessed September 2026; University of Arizona Cooperative Extension publication az2175 (December 2025); Lancaster Farming reporting of SDSU Extension figures. Pricing in this category changes frequently and most of it is quoted rather than published — confirm anything that matters directly with the vendor.

0 comments